Kefir is a fermented drink, traditionally made using cow’s milk or goat’s milk.
Kefir originated from parts of Eastern Europe and Southwest Asia. The name is derived from the Turkish word keyif, which means “feeling good” after eating. The lactic acid bacteria turn the lactose in the milk into lactic acid, so kefir tastes sour like yogurt, but has a thinner consistency.
Kefir also contains a wide variety of bioactive compounds, including organic acids and peptides that contribute to its health benefits.
Dairy-free versions of kefir can be made with coconut water, coconut milk or other sweet liquids. These will not have the same nutrient profile as dairy-based kefir.